I love so much about this library too. From the music studios to the continuous stacks. And from the power outlets at each seated location to the light filled top floor, it’s so inviting and easy to “stay a while”. Plus, it’s Seattle so of course there’s a coffee shop on the first floor. There’s even an audio tour you can dial with your mobile phone. Contact me via the contact form and I’ll share it with you. It’s great even if you’re not inside the building.

Travel on the Side

Why did I visit a library on my vacation? Well, I am a librarian, of course!

If I see a library, I like to pop in and check it out. The Seattle Public Library Central Library is an architectural wonder. Soaring high, lots of glass, shiny escalators, natural light.

Are there books? Yes! But for me, a library is all about people. Lots of library patrons were on the computers researching, getting job help, reading, studying, and socializing.

One of the cool things I saw was near one of the circulation desks. Above was a monitor featuring a map of keywords of recently returned books.

Seattle Public Library Seattle Public Library

Travel tip: When you’re on vacation, a visit to the local public library is a good way to get restaurant recommendations and tips for “non-touristy” sites. Librarians are there to help…and they know EVERYTHING!

Below are some more photos. For the…

View original post 8 more words

